Lolita 52: An Item that was a Gift

I’m lucky enough to have several items to choose from for this Lolita 52 prompt, and I’m grateful for all of them. However, I decided to focus on what might be my most-worn piece: the Innocent World Ribbon Pocket Coat (black) that my husband bought for me on our honeymoon. The coat itself is beautiful for its age, but what I especially love are the memories that I associate with it.

When we were planning the honeymoon I let Sean, my husband, choose the destination. I had only two requests: I wanted to go somewhere neither of us had ever been, and we had to use our passports. Of course I had no complaints when he chose Japan. We divided the trip pretty evenly; we spent three days in Tokyo doing things he wanted to do, then we spent a day in Tokyo Disney Sea before taking the Shinkansen to Kyoto doing things that I liked. I enjoy history and hiking, so Kyoto was much more my speed. However, I did insist on hijacking about three hours of Tokyo time for Closet Child’s Shinjuku and Harajuku locations. It wasn’t nearly enough.

Anyway, we landed in the early afternoon, checked in to our hotel, and started wandering aimlessly around Shinjuku. It wasn’t long before I realized that this was my perfect opportunity and made my way to CC. When we walked in, I was immediately stupefied by the number of Lolita garments just crammed in to the shop. I had planned to buy outerwear (and announced that plan on the way over), but one of the first things I saw was the Little Squirrel button-down JSK in green, so I lost focus immediately. After all, that was high on my wish list and still pretty new.
Luckily, Sean was there to reign me in a bit. But I knew that I wanted Little Squirrel, so I had to choose between two outerwear pieces I’d been eyeing; the coat, and a BTSSB capelet. I decided on the capelet, but Sean tried to buy the coat for me afterwards. It was very sweet of him, but I still tease him about what happened next.

Now I know we were both still tired from the flight, and it was our first few hours in Japan, but apparently he gave the cashier ¥1,000 thinking that it was ¥10,000, which resulted in some confusion between them. He called me over saying that the woman was trying to cheat him, and I used Google Translate to get it all sorted out. I thought the whole thing was hilarious, truth be told. Being from the Bay Area, I’m pretty used to dealing with awful tourists, so it was funny for me to see it from the other side. The girl was very sweet about the whole thing, and he apologized profusely. I doubt she understood his accusations, but it was embarrassing all the same.

All’s well that ends well. And I got a very nice gift from Sean, so I can’t complain (^o^)

Leave a Reply

