Lolita 52: Week 3

I wish I had a better story about my very first piece of Lolita, but in my case it was very anticlimactic. I first heard about Lolita around 2005, and while I didn’t fall immediately in love, I definitely appreciated the style. At the time though, it was much harder to get Lolita pieces than it is now. Brands didn’t ship overseas, and frankly I thank my lucky stars that I didn’t try to make any of it as my understanding of the fashion was hazy at best. Seriously, it would’ve been really really bad. But I learned the major brands and occasionally looked up new releases. I bought the English language G&LB when it was released by TokyoPop. My interest was casual, but definitely present.

About three years after I first learned about Lolita I found a secondhand Moitie op online. I’m not sure whether this is the exact one, but it’s very similar if not.

I was awful with money, and I got so excited at the prospect of owning a real Lolita dress that I immediately bought it. Besides, Gothic reigned supreme at the time, so the fact that it was Moitie was enough for me. To be honest though, even though I was excited, I knew it wasn’t something I’d ever wear. By the time it arrived the novelty had already worn off. I liked the dress, but it wasn’t me. I wasn’t particularly impressed, even though the quality was nice. I held on to it for a while, but never did wear it (it wasn’t flattering on me anyway). Eventually I think I think I sold it at Buffalo Exchange or something, which is a shame. I really didn’t know what I was doing at the time.

My casual interest persisted, although it was definitely dimished, and about two or three years ago I discovered Lace Market. That was really the turning point for me. I hadn’t realized how much easier it had gotten to get brand in the US. So even though my first purchase was an absolute bust, I eventually did find pieces that fit me (both my body and my style). I’ve since built up a small but functional wardrobe, and I’m very happy that my first Lolita purchase didn’t deter me too much.

Leave a Reply

